Book Reviews

EXPECTING
FITNESS
birgitta lauren

how to modify and enjoy your exercise program throughout your pregnancy

with Sheryl Ross M.D.

REVIEWS FROM RESEARCHERS

Expecting FitnessYour information is the best

I am doing research for a school project and your information is the best. Thank you for all your wonderful knowledge. March 12, 2005

Reviewer: Theresa Rose Linder

Expecting FitnessIncredibly comprehensive book November 5, 2004

Reviewer: Moji Doyle from Delray Beach, FL. Founder of Prenatal Fitness & Beyond

I just wanted to applaud you for your incredible comprehensive pre and postnatal fitness book. I absolutely love it! It has become my new bible/resource-go-to book. I own a bunch of pre and postnatal fitness books already that I have used for years to cross-reference with, but none are as complete and well explained as yours. Love the diagrams, photos, the overall layout. As a fitness professional myself, you confirm alot of the things that I have been passing on to my clients and students for the past 3 years in my classes and private training.

REVIEWS FROM READERS


Expecting FitnessThank you. October 29, 2007

Birgitta, i just wanted to drop a note to say thank you so much for the great book and wonderful vitamins. i am really pleased with them!

Many Thanks again. Cheers Kalli


Expecting FitnessI loved the book August 15, 2006

Hi Birgitta,

I have read your book and I loved it, I am now 21 weeks pregnant and fit and healthy and haven't felt better the information in your book allowed me to continue my training without worrying I also use a great trainer 3 times a week.

I have a girlfriend in Melbourne that is struggling and asking me questions I would love you to please send her a copy of your book (as I don't want to part with mine) it will be a surprise for her and definitely answer a lot of her questions on exercising when pregnant.

Many thanks,
Kris Stuart

REVIEWS FROM TARGET.COM AND AMAZON.COM

ISBN: 1-58063-064-2

Published by St. Martin's Press

Expecting FitnessAn excellent guide to stay fit while pregnant January 14, 2001

Reviewer: A reader from Studio City, CA United States

This is the best most comprehensive book on pregnancy fitness that I have found. It is very thorough and detailed. The exercise descriptions were very easy to follow and I was easily able to do these exercises during my pregnancy. As a result, I have a healthy fit baby and I feel like I am back in shape after just 6 weeks following my delivery. These exercises and all of the other helpful advice in the book enabled me to lose all except 8 pounds of the 35 pounds I gained during my pregnancy in just a few weeks. There is also an excellent section on post partum exercise. Overall, I was very pleased with this exceptional book and would highly recommend it to all expecting moms.


Expecting FitnessThis book was GREAT!! January 14, 2002

Reviewer: A reader from PA

Just wanted to say how happy I was for purchasing this book EXPECTING FITNESS. In my opinion, it was the book I referenced and followed the most throughout my pregnancy. I recommend it to every friend who's pregnant or trying... My experince was not as most mothers had. While I was hoping to go earlier and have a leaner baby, I went two weeks late (as the book warned) and had a 10 pounder with a total body weight gain of 22 pounds! YIKES! He WAS lean and strong however, and I had the best blood chemistry any of the nurses on the floor had seen (they checked his blood sugar every two hours for the first day). I walked out of the hospital in my street cloths, feeling healthier and more fit than I had ever felt before. A week later, I weighed less that I did before I became pregnant. I am a sweep rower and rowed my last race at 5 months pregnant (we won by the way). My rowing club graciously loaned me an erg that I used religiously until the day before I delivered. I'm back on it, rowing hard to get my seat back!
The comments on endorphins were RIGHT ON! My delivery was intervention and drug free. Most of all, it was not painful (until 9cm), and even that was bearable, quite a change from my first delivery where I was out of shape and requested an epidural at 4cm. During this , my second labor, I briskly walked the halls until 7 cm , jumped into the shower until 8-9 cm and stood by the bed for the rest. It took me 6 minutes to push my 9 pound, 15 ounce, 22.5 inch son out! I TRULY BELIEVE I WOULD NOT HAVE BEEN ABLE TO DO THIS HAD I NOT BEEN IN SHAPE. THIS BOOK SHOULD BE STANDARD ISSUE TO ALL EXPECTANT MOMS!


Expecting FitnessBirgitta Gallo's Expecting Finess July 13, 2001

Reviewer: tmosbornmd from Laurel, MD USA

Great book! Very informative. Although research is limited in exercise and pregnancy, the book references up to date information that is available. This will be a gift book for any of my friends that become pregnant.


Expecting FitnessWonderful Guide and Resource March 14, 2001

Reviewer: A reader from Washington, DC United States

This book has exactly what I was looking for in a pregnancy related exercise guide. I am an active woman, and I had been disappointed by other books that were vague or only gave 'beginning' exercise information. I think this book is appropriate for beginners or athletes - basically for anyone who wants to remain fit during pregnancy.

I appreciate the amount of detail and background information on muscles used during and after pregnancy as well as the role of hormones which helps the reader to unerstand why the exercises are important. The author seems to be operating with the latest medical advice regarding excercising in pregnancy. She also identifies the key exercises needed to assist in a smooth delivery and gives several different options for doing them (at a gym or at home and in several different positions in case your pregnancy is high risk or you are bed ridden).


Expecting FitnessThis book should be standard issue for all mothers to be! February 06, 2001

Reviewer: Eden M Venti from Bear, DE USA

Birgitta's book is a must have for anyone who's expecting, or who will be soon! Hers was the book I referenced and followed the most throughout my pregnancy (and now in postpartum). I recommend it to every friend who's pregnant or trying...

I had my son in November of 2000 and exercised using the book as a guide right up until the day before I delivered (I was 2 weeks late) I walked out of the hospital in my pre-pregnancy clothes, feeling heathier and more fit than I had ever felt before. A week later, I weighed less than I did before I became pregnant.

Birgitta's comments on endorphins were RIGHT ON! My delivery was intervention and drug free. Most of all, it was not painful (until 9 cm - transition time), and even that was bearable, quite a change from my first delivery, where I was out of shape and requested an epidural at 4 cm. During this, my second labor, I briskly walked the halls until 7 cm, jumped into the shower until 8-9cm and stood by the bed for the rest. It took me 6 minutes to push my EXTREMELY HEALTHY 9 pound, 15 ounce, 22.5 inch son out, with NO EPISIOTOMY! I TRULY BELIEVE I WOULD NOT HAVE BEEN ABLE TO DO THIS HAD I NOT BEEN IN SHAPE. THIS BOOK SHOULD BE STANDARD ISSUE TO ALL EXPECTANT MOMS!


Expecting FitnessAn excellent guide to stay fit while pregnant January 14, 2001

Reviewer: A reader from Studio City, CA United States

This is the best most comprehensive book on pregnancy fitness that I have found. It is very thorough and detailed. The exercise descriptions were very easy to follow and I was easily able to do these exercises during my pregnancy. As a result, I have a healthy fit baby and I feel like I am back in shape after just 6 weeks following my delivery. These exercises and all of the other helpful advice in the book enabled me to lose all except 8 pounds of the 35 pounds I gained during my pregnancy in just a few weeks. There is also an excellent section on post partum exercise. Overall, I was very pleased with this exceptional book and would highly recommend it to all expecting moms.


Expecting FitnessThe best pregnancy fitness book I have come across! May 27, 2000

Reviewer: Mindy M. Blackstock from Atlanta, GA

Well, now that I have my copy, I started reading through it and started trying several of the excercises, and I can honestly say I love this book and know it will make a huge difference for me. In fact, my sciatica is feeling better already after just one morning!

I did all of the leg excercises for bed-rest/high risk pregnancies, as well as attempted the abs excercises and several of the streches there. Not only did I feel the excercises doing what they are suposed to, but I did not feel any strain on baby, and when I finished, I felt great! At least as good as when I used to work out at the gym regularly, only not as tired and sweaty.

THe excercise instructions are written so that they are easy to understand and show lots of illustrations so that an idiot like me can follow along well. The excercises are also well targeted, and after finishing my workout, I felt refreshed and really good! Dh is impressed with it as well, since he was watching my workout with interest. It also does not take a great deal of time which is good too, but you can really feel the benefits right away!

I looked through other fitness books and passed them all up because I either could not understand them, or they did not have anything to offer me, a non-active person with a placenta previa... this is the only book that seems to have a whole section and lots of portions in other sections devoted to any kind of pregnancy risks, including multiple pregnancies. As she indicates though, if there are any risk factors present, it is best to check with your OB first before beginning an excercise routine. Mine cleared me to do this because I was complaining of sciatica, and I am already feeling better!

This is definately one book that will not be gathering dust on my bookshelf, and I hightly recommend it to anyone else!


Expecting FitnessA Complete and Comprehensive Pregnancy Workout May 10, 2000

Reviewer: bigblackdog from Metro Detroit, Michigan

This pregnancy workout book is the best I've seen so far. So many others I had looked at only addressed "normal" pregnancies. As a woman who had previously miscarried, I was concerned about my workout intensity level. This book addresses ALL pregnancies, from "normal, low-risk" to women confined to bed rest.

There is a very thorough discussion of what exactly is happening to your body during pregnancy and how those hormones affect everything from your joints to your heart. Also, there are great photos to help explain the exercises. For after the baby is born, there is a post-natal excersise chapter as well.

All in all, I think this book is wonderful and, for someone who thought they had read everything about pregnancy, I learned a lot!


VideoFitness.com book review

I recently found and bought this wonderful book that was just published in October of 1999. No, I'm not pregnant, but I went through about 2 1/2 weeks absolutely positive that I was, hence my hasty purchase. BUT, this is the best book on the subject I've ever seen! I haven't read the Dr. Clapp book, but he is quoted several times, so you know the author subscribes to the same philosophy. Birgitta Gallo is the trainer who worked with Jane Seymore during her pregnancy with twins a few years ago. It doesn't bog you down with dry, scientific language. You get all of the information you need, but it's also easy to read. It tells not just what to do and what not to do, but the WHY, which I love! Here's a rundown of what you'll find in this book:

Chapter 1: The Pregnancy/Exercise Connection: It talks about all of the benefits to exercise during pregnancy and how a pregnant body reacts to exercise as compared to the nonpregnant body. For ex. You burn more calories doing the same exercise while pregnant than when you're not.

Chapter 2: Pregnancy Basics and Q & As

Chapter3: Guidelines for Exercising during Pregnancy: I found it very reassuring to have something written down that DIDN'T use the pre-1994 ACOG recommendations, but was up to date with the current ones.

Chapter 4: How to Modify Sports and Activities for Pregnancy: This chapter impressed me the most. It covered every sport and activity I ever thought of and some I hadn't( step, kickboxing, sliding, rowing, skiing, snorkeling, Pilates, etc. ) and how it can be modified during pregnancy. there's even a couple of handy charts of exercises you should avoid, which are fine, and which can or can't be started as novice exercisers.

Chapter 5: The Exercises: All kinds of exercises that can/should be done during pregnancy, with emphasis on the lower back and abs.

Chapter 6: Exercises for High-Risk and Bed-Rest Pregnancies: I've never had a pregnancy that required me to stay in bed, but if I did I would feel a lot better knowing I could keep from turning into a total marshmellow using the exercises she shows here. Plus I think it would help me to keep from going stir crazy by giving me something to do! :-) Incidentally, they are the same ones Jane Seymore did while she was confined to bed for the last several weeks.

Chapter 7: Posture, Stretching, Yoga, Relaxation, and Correct Breathing

Chapter 8: Nutrition and Pregnancy

Chapter 9: Essantial Vitamins and Minerals

Chapter 10: Postnatal Fitness and Nutrition

Chapter 11: Baby and Mother -- The Fit Pregnancy: This chapter includes some real life scenarios of moms who exercised and their experiences -- VERY inspiring!

So, that's it! I hope that somebody finds this helpful! If I had actually been pregnant ( She says with a red face :-) ) this is a book that would never be put away for the whole 9 months. I would keep it by my bed for quick and easy reference, especially if I ended up on bed rest.

ErinF
ferragut@avalon.net

 

home                vitamins                book                apparel                baby accessories                equipment                gift box
Copyright ©2007 Expecting Fitness, Inc. - Terms and conditions - Medical disclaimer